I have so many questions!

After we announced this theme week in the Facebook group for newly admitted Master’s students, one of the new students sent a few questions to me. The odds are that she isn’t the only one wondering about the same questions, so I decided to post my answers here.

I was admitted to MSc in Economics and Business for 2010 and I have so many questions! I was wondering whether you could tell me more about your class. Like how many students? How many internationals? From what countries? What age?

The Marketing and Media Management class has 28 students. About 60% of us are from Sweden, the rest come from Canada, USA, Finland, Germany, Greece and Singapore (I hope I didn’t forgot anyone’s home country). Even most of the Swedish students have done at least part of their undergraduate studies abroad. As for the age question, I must say I haven’t really thought of that ever. However, a quick search on Facebook shows that we were born between ’82 and ’88.

Naturally, this was only this year’s situation. As far as I know, next year’s class will for example have more students.

Pierre, Effie, Julie and Zacharias after today’s simulation excercise.

Did you have trouble getting an apartment?

In short: yes. Finding an apartment is probably my least favourite thing about Stockholm. It felt impossible at times! Something I would recommend is teaming up with a few of your future classmates – I’m sharing a flat with two other SSE Master’s students that I originally got to know through Facebook.

Do you work while you are at school?

I don’t but I know some of my classmates do.

Did you know Swedish before coming to Stockholm?

The other official language of my native Finland is Swedish, so I did speak Swedish already before coming to Sweden. Most of the other internatonal students didn’t, though. At least the younger Swedes speak excellent English and the school organized a crash course in Swedish, so that shouldn’t be too big of an issue.

If you have any other questions, just post them in the comments! We’ll do our best to answer them.

About Riikka

Student in the Marketing and Media Management program at SSE. Some of the things I like are: baking cakes and drinking tea, research, working with people who love what they are doing. One of the admins for this blog.
This entry was posted in Stockholm School of Economics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

