Start your own business

Today we had a very interesting guest lecture in our Media Management course, Sorosh Tavakoli from Videoplaza.

He talked of course about the online video industry and about videoplaza. But what I thought was most inspiring was when he described his way from a student to an entrepreneur and when he talked about how it was to run his own business. He described his journey as an entrepreneur in the following steps:

  • Problem
  • Solution
  • Find the right team
  • Get the first client
  • Find founding
  • Sales, sales, sales
  • Expansion

 

I have thought about starting my own business for a long time and I think I will eventually. And I started to think about what I am passionate about, what do I love to do? According to Sorosh Tavakoli’s advice I should start to think about a problem, not what I like to do or what I can do…but to dream away for a while, what I love is theatre. So I searched for some inspiration from other people who share my passion and I came across this video at TED.com. It is Patsy Rodenburg describing why she does theatre. She might not describe the business part of theatre, rather the beauty of acting and why acting is important in our society.

Sorosh Tavakoli didn’t actually mention that you should love what you are doing, but you could really tell that he did! What do you think? Do you have to start your own business within a field you are passionate about? Or is it better to be more rational and find a problem, no matter what it is about and then move on from there? I think that when you have your own business, you must be very engaged in what you are doing and you must love what you do. But that doesn’t necessarily mean that you work within a field you are passionate about. Being an entrepreneur is for me a lifestyle, not a job and I think it is important to really feel that your role as an entrepreneur and as a private person can merge to one. You will become your company and vice versa. Do you agree? How many would like to run their own business?

About Lisa Enckell

VP Marketing at Wrapp. Swede trying to adjust to all the sunshine and fog in San Francisco. And the great cocktails.
This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Start your own business

  1. Pierrefect says:

    Nice post 🙂

    I would love to have my own company. To be able to literarily handle all the 4Ps, build them up from the ground and create something. The real question of course is what kind of company… ^^ Looking at my interests the most likely fields are either marketing consulting, functional drinks, technology or games.

    I do believe that you can be very successful not doing what you are passionate about, many are. However, at the same time, what starting a business is about is doing something better than the competition. This means that you can do the exact same thing as the competition as long as you are cheaper, or faster, or more reliable… When that is what you need to do your best bet are either an inherent talent or true passion. Either should make you more able to succeed. Also, if you are gonna put 60 to 100 hours a week into something (as many entrepreneurs do) I guess doing what you love makes a lot of sense just because of that reason alone. 🙂

    So will we see you having your own theatre company in a few years Lisa?

  2. Sanna says:

    Well, I do belive one could be succesfull, event though you don’t love your work/company. But I’m convinced that doing what you’re passionate about, will give you better life quality. Some people can live with work being “just work”, I can’t. I could not imagine going to work everyday and just wait for it to be over, so I can go home. So, starting my own business feels right for me!

Leave a Reply

